Which Batsman has Recorded the Quickest Century in IPL History?

Which Batsman has Recorded the Quickest Century in IPL History?

Quickest Century in IPL History 

The IPL has been going on for close to 17 years now, and one thing that hooks us to this money-rich tournament is the centuries and the fifties. Despite T20 cricket being high-risk cricket where the strike rate weighs more than anything, over time, players have scored centuries in the league. A lengthy list of centuries has been scored in the premier league by a list of batsmen. But which batsman has scored the quickest century in the IPL

Read More: Greatest Team Scores of All Time in IPL 

The response isn’t truly surprising. Chris Gayle, the Universe Boss, holds the record for the swiftest century in IPL history. He achieved the feat off a mere 30 balls against the Pune Warriors India team back in 2013. In an innings where records took a plummet by the dozen, Gayle claimed the record of the quickest century in IPL, which stands to this day. 

Below we will take a look at the 5 quietest centuries scored in IPL. 

  1. Chris Gayle – 30 balls 

Pune Warriors India vs Royal Challengers Banglore, M Chinnaswamy Stadium

2013 was one of Chris Gayle’s finest, where he concluded as the second-highest run-attainer in the competition. But his innings in the 35 match of the IPL that year will be warmly remembered. On a phenomenal Banglore evening, Gayle decided to create chaos for the Pune bowlers as he shattered a century off a mere 30 balls, which to this day stays the IPL’s quickest 100 as well as T20 cricket. The tall Jamaican hit the bowlers to all the corners of the M Chinnaswamy Stadium and finally concluded on an undefeated 175* off 66 deliveries, the highest score in the history of the IPL. His innings were laced with 17 sixes and 13 fours as RCB eased their way to 263/5, the greatest score in IPL history. 

Chris Gayle was announced as the Player of the Match, with RCB winning the encounter by a gigantic 130-run margin. Several of Gayle’s records in that match are yet to be overthrown in the shortest format of the game. This is the swiftest 100 in IPL. 

  1. Yusuf Pathan – 37 balls 

Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals, Brabourne Stadium 

Yusuf Pathan was in the form of his life in the beginning years of the IPL. He was RR’s mainstay and a leading cause behind them triumphing in the inaugural edition of the IPL. In match 2 of the 3rd edition of the IPL, MI Posted an elevated 212/6 in their 20 overs. A score of that immensity was never breached in the IPL before, and on 66/4 in the 10th over, it looked like Rajasthan would also be resigned to the parallel fate. But Pathan decided to do the unimaginable. With nothing to lose, the RR team player took the Mumbai bowlers to the cleaners. He shattered 100 off a mere 37 balls, his innings included eight 6s and nine 4s. This is the second-quickest century in IPL and was one of the swiftest centuries in T20 cricket and IPL for the longest time. 

Mumbai finally did triumph over the match by a narrow margin of 4 runs but not before getting a mighty score. Pathan would have won Rajasthan the match if not for an excellent piece of runout from Sathish. It’s nearly 11 years since Pathan’s knock, but it’s still one of the quickest centuries in the history of the IPL. This stays one of the quickest 100 in IPL. 

  1. David Miller – 38 balls 

Royal Challengers Banglore vs Kings XI Punjab, PCA IS Bindra Stadium 

David Miller has always been popular as one of the vicious hitters of the ball. In the 51st Match of IPL 2013, RCB bowlers discovered this the hard way. Having scored 190/3 in their 20 overs, the Royals would have been justly confident guarding the total, more so after lowing Punjab to 64/4 in 9.5 overs. 

However, what occurred in the ensuing 8.1 overs was something scarcely seen on a cricket field. Miller let himself lose and had the Punjab enthusiasts dancing all night long. The RCB bowlers could do nothing as he drew it out of the park. 

Miller reached his century off a mere 38 balls and concluded the game with a 6 in a grandeur. This stays the 3rd quickest century in IPL history. In all, he stuck seven 6s and eight 4s and made it an unforgettable night for Kings XI Punjab enthusiasts. 

  1. Adam Gilchrist – 42 balls 

Mumbai Indians vs Deccan Chargers, DR. DY Patil Stadium

Adam Gilchrist is without a doubt one of the finest wicket-keeper batsmen the games have ever witnessed. His ball-striking capability is second to none, and when on song, only a few players come close. In the 14th Match of the initial season, batting first, MI had hobbled their way to 157/7.

However, they had something on the board of their bowlers to deal with. Gilchrist, though was non of that. Pursuing 155, Gilchrist dusted the MI bowlers to every corner and nook of the park, burning his way to a century in a mere 42 deliveries, the 4th quickest century in IPL history. During his knock, the left-hander hit ten 6s and nine 4s as Deccan Chargers triumphed by 10 wickets with 8 overs felt over. Gilchrist’s knock is one of the quickest centuries in the IPL. 

  1. AB de Villiers – 43 balls 

Gujarat Lions vs Royal Challengers Banglore, M Chinnaswamy Stadium

David Warner and AB de Villiers hold the record for the 5th quickest century in the IPL, who attained the three-figure mark in just 43 balls, respectively. 

Villiers reached the mark against the Gujarat Lions team in 2016. He was in superb form that day and made his way to an astounding century. RCB comfortably triumphed in the match against the Gujarat Lions. 

  1. David Warner – 43 balls 

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajiv Gandhi Intl. Cricket Stadium

David Warner documented his swiftest century in the IPL against KKR in 2017. Initially batting, Warner set the platform on fire, reaching his quickest 100 in IPL off just a mere 43 balls and finally concluded on 126 off 59 deliveries. He hammered eight 6s and ten 4s and was named as the Player of the Match for his efforts. 

Conclusion of the Fastest Century in the History of the IPL 

Mayank Agarwal, Shane Watson, Virat Kohli, and Murali Vijay have all scored their quickest century in the IPL tournament. However, Chris Gayle’s record of a 30-ball hundred stays undefeated. Do you think that any cricketer can ever catch up with Gayle’s record? 

Also, did you know – you can now win real money on Winbaji by just forecasting the successor of the match? Check out the Winbaji official site to know more. 

About Author


Hi, I'm Sam Smith, and I invite you to join WinBaji, the ultimate online sports betting platform in Bangladesh. Experience top-tier betting on your favorite sports, enhanced by secure, user-friendly features. Start your journey to big wins with us today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *